Festivals: call for entries

The National Award Ak Ilbirs-2020: Call for entries Call the entries!



TV serials: Call the entries!

IV Cinema Forum of the female directors of Kyrgyzstan: Call the entries!
Tuesday, 08 October 2019 00:00

Gold Derby: 2020 Oscars: International Feature Film entries from A (Albania) to V (Vietnam)

Written by Paul Sheehan, 07.10.2019


A record 93 countries submitted entries in the International Feature Film race at the 2020 Oscars. That is up by six from last year,when the category was still called Best Foreign-Language Film, and eclipses the record 92 submissions in 2018. The nations represented ranged from A (Albania) to V (Vietnam). Predicting the eventual five Oscar nominees is made difficult by the two-step process.


First, the several hundred academy members of the Foreign-Language Film screening committee are required to watch a number of the submissions (upwards of a dozen) over a two-month period that ends in mid December. They will rate them from 6 to 10 and their top six vote-getters make it to the next round, as will three films added by the 20 members of the executive committee.


Those nine semi-finalists will be screened three per day beginning in early January by select committee members in Gotham, Hollywood, London and San Francisco. These 40 folks will then vote for the final five which will be revealed, along with the other Oscar nominations, on Jan. 13.


The entire academy membership will get screeners of these five nominated films and vote for the winner, which will be revealed on the Oscars on February 9.


PREDICT the Oscars now, change them until January, 13, 2020:


Albania, The Delegation, Bujar Alimani, director;
Algeria, Papicha, Mounia Meddour, director;
Argentina, Heroic Losers, Sebastián Borensztein, director;
Armenia, Lengthy Night, Edgar Baghdasaryan, director;
Australia, Buoyancy, Rodd Rathjen, director;
Austria, Joy, Sudabeh Mortezai, director


Bangladesh, Alpha, Nasiruddin Yousuff, director;
Belarus, Debut, Anastasiya Miroshnichenko, director;
Belgium, Our Mothers, César Díaz, director;
Bolivia, I Miss You, Rodrigo Bellott, director;
Bosnia and Herzegovina, The Son, Ines Tanovic, director;
Brazil, Invisible Life, Karim Aïnouz, director;
Bulgaria, Ága, Milko Lazarov, director;


Cambodia, In the Life of Music, Caylee So, Sok Visal, directors;
Canada, Antigone, Sophie Deraspe, director;
Chile, Spider, Andrés Wood, director;
China, Ne Zha, Yu Yang, director;
Colombia, Monos, Alejandro Landes, director;
Costa Rica, The Awakening of the Ants, Antonella Sudasassi Furniss, director;
Croatia, Mali, Antonio Nuic, director;
Cuba, A Translator, Rodrigo Barriuso, Sebastián Barriuso, directors;
Czech Republic, The Painted Bird, Václav Marhoul, director;


Denmark, Queen of Hearts, May el-Toukhy, director;
Dominican Republic, The Projectionist, José María Cabral, director;


Ecuador, The Longest Night, Gabriela Calvache, director;
Egypt, Poisonous Roses, Ahmed Fawzi Saleh, director;
Estonia, Truth and Justice, Tanel Toom, director;
Ethiopia, Running against the Wind, Jan Philipp Weyl, director;


Finland, Stupid Young Heart, Selma Vilhunen, director;
France, Les Misérables, Ladj Ly, director;


Georgia, Shindisi, Dimitri Tsintsadze, director;
Germany, System Crasher, Nora Fingscheidt, director;
Ghana, Azali, Kwabena Gyansah, director;
Greece, When Tomatoes Met Wagner, Marianna Economou, director;


Honduras, Blood, Passion, and Coffee, Carlos Membreño, director;
Hong Kong, The White Storm 2 Drug Lords, Herman Yau, director;
Hungary, Those Who Remained, Barnabás Tóth, director;


Iceland, A White, White Day, Hlynur Pálmason, director;
India, Gully Boy, Zoya Akhtar, director;
Indonesia, Memories of My Body, Garin Nugroho, director;
Iran, Finding Farideh, Azadeh Moussavi, Kourosh Ataee, directors;
Ireland, Gaza, Garry Keane, Andrew McConnell, directors;
Israel, Incitement, Yaron Zilberman, director;
Italy, The Traitor, Marco Bellocchio, director;


Japan, Weathering with You, Makoto Shinkai, director;


Kazakhstan, Kazakh Khanate. The Golden Throne, Rustem Abdrashov, director;
Kenya, Subira, Ravneet Singh (Sippy) Chadha, director;
Kosovo, Zana, Antoneta Kastrati, director;
Kyrgyzstan, Aurora, Bekzat Pirmatov, director;


Latvia, The Mover, Davis Simanis, director;
Lebanon, 1982, Oualid Mouaness, director;
Lithuania, Bridges of Time, Audrius Stonys, Kristine Briede, directors;
Luxembourg, Tel Aviv on Fire, Sameh Zoabi, director;


Malaysia, M for Malaysia, Dian Lee, Ineza Roussille, directors;
Mexico, The Chambermaid, Lila Avilés, director;
Mongolia, The Steed, Erdenebileg Ganbold, director;
Montenegro, Neverending Past, Andro Martinović, director;
Morocco, Adam, Maryam Touzani, director;


Nepal, Bulbul, Binod Paudel, director;
Netherlands, Instinct, Halina Reijn, director;
Nigeria, Lionheart, Genevieve Nnaji, director;
North Macedonia, Honeyland, Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska, directors;
Norway, Out Stealing Horses, Hans Petter Moland, director;


Pakistan, Laal Kabootar, Kamal Khan, director;
Palestine, It Must Be Heaven, Elia Suleiman, director;
Panama, Everybody Changes, Arturo Montenegro, director;
Peru, Retablo, Alvaro Delgado Aparicio, director;
Philippines, Verdict, Raymund Ribay Gutierrez, director;
Poland, Corpus Christi, Jan Komasa, director;
Portugal, The Domain, Tiago Guedes, director;


Romania, The Whistlers, Corneliu Porumboiu, director;
Russia, Beanpole, Kantemir Balagov, director;


Saudi Arabia, The Perfect Candidate, Haifaa Al Mansour, director;
Senegal, Atlantics, Mati Diop, director;
Serbia, King Petar the First, Petar Ristovski, director;
Singapore, A Land Imagined, Yeo Siew Hua, director;
Slovakia, Let There Be Light, Marko Skop, director;
Slovenia, History of Love, Sonja Prosenc, director;
South Africa, Knuckle City, Jahmil X.T. Qubeka, director;
South Korea, Parasite, Bong Joon Ho, director;
Spain, Pain and Glory, Pedro Almodóvar, director;
Sweden, And Then We Danced, Levan Akin, director;
Switzerland, Wolkenbruch’s Wondrous Journey into the Arms of a Shiksa, Michael Steiner, director;


Taiwan, Dear Ex, Mag Hsu, Chih-Yen Hsu, directors;
Thailand, Krasue: Inhuman Kiss, Sitisiri Mongkolsiri, director;
Tunisia, Dear Son, Mohamed Ben Attia, director;
Turkey, Commitment Asli, Semih Kaplanoglu, director;


Ukraine, Homeward, Nariman Aliev, director;
United Kingdom, The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind, Chiwetel Ejiofor, director;
Uruguay, The Moneychanger, Federico Veiroj, director;
Uzbekistan, Hot Bread, Umid Khamdamov, director;


Venezuela, Being Impossible, Patricia Ortega, director;
Vietnam, Furie, Le Van Kiet, director.Yemen, “10 Days before the Wedding,” Amr Gamal, director.


Open here




Part of long list